Last updated on: 5/29/2018 | Author: ProCon.org

State-by-State Minimum Wage Levels

(as of May 29, 2019)

29States + DC Have a Minimum Wage Higher than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25 an Hour

2States (Georgia and Wyoming) Have a Minimum Wage Lower than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25 an Hour

$12.00US States with the Highest Current Minimum Wage: California, Massachusetts, & Washington [$13.25 in DC]

The table below reflects state minimum wage levels on May 29, 2019. When a state minimum wage is set at a higher rate than the federal minimum wage, the highest rate prevails. When a state minimum wage is lower than the federal minimum wage, the state must pay the federal minimum wage to all those employed in roles covered by federal laws such as the Fair Labor Standards Act.

 StateCurrent LevelFuture Level (Date)
1AlabamaNo state laws
2Alaska$9.89
3Arizona$11.00$12.00 (2020)
4Arkansas$9.25
5California
-Large employers (26+ employees)$12.00$15.00 (2022)
-Small employers (<26 employees)$11.00$15.00 (2023)
6Colorado$11.10$12.00 (2020)
7Connecticut$10.10$15.00 (2023)
8Delaware$8.75
District of Columbia (DC)$13.25$15.00 (2020)
9Florida$8.46
10Georgia$5.15
11Hawaii$10.10
12Idaho$7.25
13Illinois$8.25$15.00 (2025)
14Indiana$7.25
15Iowa$7.25
16Kansas$7.25
17Kentucky$7.25
18LouisianaNo state laws
19Maine$11.00$12.00 (2020)
20Maryland$10.10$15.00 (2025)
21Massachusetts$12.00
22Michigan$9.25
23Minnesota
-Large employers (annual receipts of $500,000+)$9.86
-Small employers (annual receipts of <$500.000)$8.04
24MississippiNo state laws
25Missouri$8.60
26Montana$8.50
27Nebraska$9.00
28Nevada
-With no health insurance benefits from employer$8.25
-With health insurance benefits from employer$7.25
29New Hampshire$7.25
30New Jersey$8.85$15.00 (2024)
31New Mexico$7.50
32New York$11.10$12.50 (2020)
33North Carolina$7.25
34North Dakota$7.25
35Ohio
-Employers with annual receipts of $314,000+$8.55
-Employers with annual receipts of <$314,000$7.25
36Oklahoma$7.25
37Oregon$10.75$13.50 (2020)
38Pennsylvania$7.25
39Rhode Island$10.50
40South CarolinaNo state laws
41South Dakota$9.10
42TennesseeNo state laws
43Texas$7.25
44Utah$7.25
45Vermont$10.78
46Virginia$7.25
47Washington$12.00$13.50 (2020)
48West Virginia$8.75
49Wisconsin$7.25
50Wyoming$5.15

Sources:
  1. Morgan Gstalter, “Connecticut Governor Signs Bill to Gradually Raise Minimum Wage to $15,” thehill.com, May 29, 2019
  2. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, “Labor Standards – Minnesota’s Minimum-Wage Law,” dli.mn.gov (accessed Jan. 4, 2018)
  3. New York State Department of Labor, “Minimum Wage,” labor.ny.gov (accessed Jan. 4, 2018)
  4. Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries, “Oregon Minimum Wage Rate Summary,” oregon.gov (accessed Jan. 4, 2018)
  5. State of Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, “Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law,” dllr.md.us, July 2017
  6. State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry, “Minimum Wage 2017 Annual Bulletin,” labor.nv.gov, Apr. 1, 2017
  7. State of Ohio Department of Commerce, “2018 Minimum Wage,” com.ohio.gov, 2018
  8. University of California at Berkley, Labor Center, “Inventory of US City and County Minimum Wage Ordinances,” laborcenter.berkeley.edu, Dec. 21, 2017
  9. United States Department of Labor, “Consolidated Minimum Wage Table,” dol.gov, Jan. 1, 2018
  10. Brian White, “Maryland Becomes Sixth State to Approve $15 Minimum Wage,” apnews.com, Mar. 28, 2019