State-by-State Minimum Wage Levels
(as of Feb. 7, 2017)


29
States + DC Have a Minimum Wage Higher than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25 an Hour


2
States (Georgia and Wyoming) Have a Minimum Wage Lower than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25 an Hour


$15.00
US City with the Highest Current Minimum Wage:
Seattle, WA


$11.00
States with the Highest Current Minimum Wage:
Massachusetts and Washington


The table below reflects state and local (city or county) minimum wage levels on Jan 1, 2017. When a state or local minimum wage is set at a higher rate than the federal minimum wage, the highest rate prevails. When a state or local minimum wage is lower than the federal minimum wage, the state must pay the federal minimum wage to all those employed in roles covered by federal laws such as the Fair Labor Standards Act.

State
Current
Level
Future Level
(Date)
1 Alabama No state laws
2 Alaska $9.80
3 Arizona
- Flagstaff
$10.00
$10.00
$12.00 (2020)
$15.00 (2021)
4 Arkansas $8.50
5 California
- Large employers (26+ employees)
- Small employers (<26 employees)
- Berkeley
- Cupertino
- El Cerrito
- Emeryville (56+ employees)
- Emeryville (<56 employees)
- Los Angeles (26+ employees)
- Los Angeles (<26 employees)
- Los Angeles County (26+ employees)
- Los Angeles County (<26 employees)
- Malibu (26+ employees)
- Malibu (<26 employees)
- Mountain View
- Oakland
- Palo Alto
- Pasadena (26+ employees)
- Pasadena (<26 employees)
- Richmond
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Jose
- San Leandro
- San Mateo
- San Mateo (nonprofits)
- Santa Clara
- Santa Monica (26+ employees)
- Santa Monica (<26 employees)
- Sunnyvale

$10.50
$10.00
$12.53
$12.00
$12.25
$14.44
$13.00
$10.50
$10.50
$10.50
$10.50
$10.50
$10.50
$13.00
$12.25
$12.00
$10.50
$10.50
$12.30
$11.50
$13.00
$10.50
$10.50
$12.00
$10.50
$11.00
$10.50
$10.50
$13.00

$15.00 (2022)
$15.00 (2023)
$15.00 (2018)
$15.00 (2019)
$15.00 (2019)

$15.00 (2018)
$15.00 (2020)
$15.00 (2021)
$15.00 (2020)
$15.00 (2021)
$15.00 (2020)
$15.00 (2021)
$15.00 (2018)

$15.00 (2019)
$13.25 (2018)
$12.00 (2018)
$13.00 (2018)

$15.00 (2018)
$15.00 (2019)
$15.00 (2020)
$15.00 (2019)
$13.50 (2019)

$15.00 (2020)
$15.00 (2021)
$15.00 (2018)
6 Colorado $9.30 $12.00 (2020)
7 Connecticut $10.10
8 Delaware $8.25
District of Columbia (DC) $11.50 $15.00 (2020)
9 Florida
- Miami Beach
$8.10
$8.10

$13.31 (2021)
10 Georgia $5.15
11 Hawaii $9.25 $10.10 (2018)
12 Idaho $7.25
13 Illinios
- Chicago
- Cook County
$8.25
$10.50
$8.25

$13.00 (2019)
$13.00 (2020)
14 Indiana $7.25
15 Iowa
- Johnson County
- Linn County
- Polk County
- Wapello County
$7.25
$10.10
$8.25
$7.25
$8.20


$10.25 (2019)
$10.75 (2019)
$10.10 (2019)
16 Kansas $7.25
17 Kentucky $7.25
18 Louisiana No state laws
19 Maine
- Portland
$9.00
$10.68
$12.00 (2020)

20 Maryland
- Montgomery County
- Prince George's County
$8.75
$10.75
$10.75
$10.10 (2018)
$11.50 (2017)*
$11.50 (2017)*
21 Massachusetts $11.00
22 Michigan $8.90 $9.25 (2018)
23 Minnesota
- Large employers (annual receipts of $500,000+)
- Small employers (annual receipts of <$500,000)

$9.50
$7.75

$9.71 (2019)
24 Mississippi No state laws
25 Missouri (applicable to employers with annual receipts of $500,000+) $7.70 $7.90 (2019)
26 Montana $8.15 $8.65 (2019)
27 Nebraska (applicable to employers of 4+ staff) $9.00
28 Nevada
- With no health insurance benefits from employer
- With health insurance benefits from employer

$8.25
$7.25
29 New Hampshire $7.25
30 New Jersey $8.44 $8.97 (2019)
31 New Mexico
- Albuquerque
- Bernalillo County
- Las Cruces
- Santa Fe
- Santa Fe County
$7.50
$8.50
$8.50
$9.20
$9.50
$10.66



$10.10 (2019)

32 New York
- Nassau County
- New York City (11+ employees)
- New York City (<11 employees)
- Suffolk County
- Westchester County
- Upstate and Suburban Areas
$9.70
$15.00 (2021)
$15.00 (2018)
$15.00 (2019)
$15.00 (2021)
$15.00 (2021)
$12.50 (2020)
33 North Carolina $7.25
34 North Dakota $7.25
35 Ohio
- Employers with annual receipts of $299,000+
- Employers with annual receipts of <$299,000

$8.15
$7.25

$8.70 (2019)
36 Oklahoma (applicable to employers of 10+ staff or
$100,000+ annual gross sales)
$7.25
37 Oregon
- Portland Metro
- Smaller Cities
- Rural and Coastal Areas
$9.75
$9.75
$9.75
$9.50

$14.75 (2022)
$13.50 (2022)
$12.50 (2022)
38 Pennsylvania $7.25
39 Rhode Island $9.60
40 South Carolina No state laws
41 South Dakota $8.65
42 Tennessee No state laws
43 Texas $7.25
44 Utah $7.25
45 Vermont (applicable to employers of 2+ staff) $10.00 $10.50 (2018)
46 Virginia (applicable to employers of 4+ staff) $7.25
47 Washington
- Seattle (501+ employees)
- Seattle (<501 employees)
- Tacoma
$11.00
$15.00
$13.00
$11.15
$13.50 (2020)

$15.75 (2020)
$12.00 (2018)
48 West Virginia (applicable to employers of 6+ staff) $8.75
49 Wisconsin $7.25
50 Wyoming $5.15

* as of Oct. 2017


Notes: - 10 states index minimum wage increases annually to rise with the cost of living: AZ, CO, FL, MO, MT, NV, NJ, OH, OR, WA. Projected indexed minimum wages are based on Congressional Budget Office projections. - Five states and DC plan to index minimum wage increases annually beginning in future years: AK, MI, MN, SD, VT. Projected indexed minimum wages are based on Congressional Budget Office projections.
Sources:
  1. Paris Achen, "Brown Signs Minimum Wage Bill," Portland Tribune, Mar. 3, 2016

  2. California Legislative Information, "SB-3 Minimum Wage: In-Home Supportive Services: Paid Sick Days," leginfo.legislature.ca.gov, Mar. 31, 2016

  3. Connecticut Department of Labor, "Wage and Workplace Standards Division," ctdol.state.ct.us (accessed Mar. 9, 2016)

  4. Department of Labor, "Minimum Wage Laws in the States – January 1, 2016," dol.gov, Jan. 1, 2016

  5. Massachusetts Judicial Branch, "Massachusetts Law about Minimum Wage," mass.gov (accessed Mar. 9, 2016)

  6. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, "Michigan Minimum Wage," michamber.com (accessed Mar. 9, 2016)

  7. Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, "Labor Standards - Minnesota's Minimum-Wage Law," dli.mn.gov (accessed July 14, 2016)

  8. National Conference of State Legislatures, "State Minimum Wage: 2017 Minimum Wage by State," ncsl.org, Jan. 5, 2017

  9. New Hampshire Department of Labor, "Minimum Wage," ng.gov (accessed Feb. 10, 2017)

  10. New York State Assembly, "SFY 2016-17 Enacted Budget Raises the Minimum Wage and Delivers Paid Family Leave to Support Workers and their Families," assembly.state.ny.gov, Apr. 1, 2016

  11. Ben Norton, "D.C. Enacting $15 Minimum Wage Indexed for Inflation, in Huge Victory for Labor Rights," salon.com, June 28, 2016

  12. Raise the Minimum Wage, "What's the Minimum Wage in Your State?," raisetheminimumwage.com (accessed Feb. 23, 2016)

  13. State of Hawaii, "Minimum Wage and Overtime," labor.hawaii.gov (accessed Mar. 9, 2016)

  14. State of Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, "Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law," dllr.state.md.us, Nov. 2015

  15. State of Oregon's Employment Department, "Oregon Minimum Wage Summary," Oregon.gov, Feb. 2017

  16. Avianne Tan, "Arizona, Colorado, Maine and Washington Appear Set to Increase Minimum Wages," abcnews.go.com, Nov. 9, 2016

  17. Melanie Trottman, "A Midyear Burst of Minimum-Wage Increases Starts on July 1," blogs.wsj.com, July 1, 2016

  18. University of California at Berkley, Labor Center, "Inventory of US City and County Minimum Wage Ordinances," laborcenter.berkeley.edu, Feb. 7, 2017

  19. Vermont Department of Labor, "Notice: Minimum Wage," labor.vermont.gov (accessed Mar. 9, 2016)